Youth Forum Qatar honours ‘Youth Icon’ award winners

 15 May 2017 - 19:51

Youth Forum Qatar honours ‘Youth Icon’ award winners

The Peninsula

Doha: Youth Forum Qatar honoured ten young achievers with  ‘Youth Icon’ awards during ‘Youth Live’, an event organised by Youth Forum in association with Doha International Center for Interfaith Dialogue (DICID), under the theme “One World; One Love”.

Ten Indian professionals from different walks of life were selected as ‘Youth Icons’ for their constructive contribution to the service of humanity upholding the message of coexistence and mutual respect.

DICID Chairman Dr Ibrahim Saleh Al Naimi inaugurated the award ceremony held at Community College of Qatar.

“The main objective of DICID is to spread the culture of acceptance and respect to others and peaceful coexistence through dialogue and varied cultural programmes among the individuals belonging to different religions and cultural surroundings,” said Dr Ibrahim Saleh Al Naimi in his inaugural speech.

“This mutual respect is essential for safe existence and development of communities. By organizing ‘Youth Live’ with the theme “One World, One Love”, DICID hopes to build a seamless world that is filled with pure love and compassion towards fellow beings. Individuals form varied communities in Qatar shall join hands and come together to break the boundaries created by narrow-mindedness and prejudices,” Dr Ibrahim added.

He appreciated the contribution of Indian Community in this regard and thanked Youth Forum for organizing such an event and appreciated all the initiatives and efforts by Youth Forum.
Nadir Abdul Salam (Music), Maneesh Sarangi (Drama), Muhammad Shakir (Science), Faisal Hudavi (Social Service) Abdul Kareem (Calligraphy), Rajeesh Ravi (Art), Sandra Ramchandran (Debate), Abbas OM (Literature), Sreedevi Joy (Media) and Shiyas Kottaram (Sports; Youth Entrepreneurship) are the winners of the Youth Icon Award.

Dr Ibrahim Saleh Al Naimi, Qatar Music Academy Director Dr Abdul Ghafour Al Heeti and Assistant Director of Thakhira Youth Center Eisa Saleh Al Muhannadi gave away the mementos and certificates to the award winners.

President of Solidarity Youth Movement T Shakir, Indian Film Director Muhsin Parari, Youth Live General Convener Saleel Ebrahim, Youth Icon Award Jury Chairman Dr Yasir, Youth Forum Advisory Board Member K C Abdul Latheef, Youth Forum President Firoz S A, Vice Presidents Shanavas Khalid and General Secretary Bilal Harippad also attended the event.